Cris Collinsworth Wins Annual Pat Summerall Award

Thursday, February 04, 2010

There are so many broadcasting awards out there, that it's hard to figure out which ones are the most respected in the business. Obviously winning an Emmy is at the top of the list, but the individual sports broadcasting awards go as follows: Curt Gowdy- Basketball, Ford C. Frick- Baseball and Pat Summerall- Football.

Doug Collins won the Gowdy last year, Jon Miller was given the Frick last week and now Cris Collinsworth has been awarded the Summerall for contributions to the NFL....

Former Florida Gator Great and current NFL sportscaster Cris Collinsworth will be honored with the prestigious Pat Summerall Award on Thursday, Feb. 4, at the annual Legends for Charity Dinner. Each year, the award honors an individual who has made a significant contribution to the sports field. Past recipients include James Brown, Greg Gumbel, Jim Nantz and Chris Berman. The event will take place at the NFL Headquarters Hotel at the Westin Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., and benefits St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

During his time at UF from 1977-80, Collinsworth was a three-time All-SEC and two-time All-American performer at wide receiver. As a Gator, he caught 120 passes for 1,937 yards and 14 touchdowns, ran for two other touchdowns and returned a kickoff for another score. He was inducted into the Verizon Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 2001.

Collinsworth played eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals and the 1981 Rookie of the Year was also selected to play in three Pro Bowls. Following his NFL career, he became a sportscaster and has since won nine Emmy’s for his work as a sports personality and football analyst. In 2008, Collinsworth covered the Olympic Games for NBC and currently joins Al Michaels as the host of NBC’s Sunday Night Football.
A well-deserved honor to be sure. Usually when you try to replace a legend like John Madden, you either fail completely or it takes a few years to get the chemistry down. Collinsworth made the transition seamlessly and kept NBC rolling throughout the season. Bravo Sir!

Former Gator Cris Collinsworth To Be Recognized (WCTV)


You need to have a BAL over .15 to qualify for the Summerall award.

GMoney said...
Feb 4, 2010, 1:33:00 PM  

Michaels and Collinsworth have taken over as the best NFL broadcasting team.

I wish they called MNF too. I can't stand Tirico.

dcs said...
Feb 4, 2010, 3:17:00 PM  

Cris, I hope you aren't too upset that the award was previously given to Berman. It is still worth something.

G said...
Feb 4, 2010, 3:40:00 PM  

For good measure, the award similar to these 3 for hockey is the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award.

Feb 7, 2010, 6:21:00 PM  

There's also the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award, given by the Pro Football Hall of Fame:

noncanadianguy said...
Feb 8, 2010, 1:53:00 PM  

Post a Comment