A Look At Versus' Very Poorly Named Marketing Campaign
Tuesday, January 06, 2009

Versus, like any company these days, is trying everything they can do to get press and notierity on the cheap. They've recently started a marketing campaign for the network that has people sending in photos with their best use of the letter "V" for their logo. Basically various folks flashing the peace sign.
So what's wrong with that you ask? Well just the fact that they are calling it "Show Me Your V". Puck Daddy has some of the more interesting reactions...
Puck Daddy reader Tim: "In case you missed it, they have a new promotion that calls for its viewers to send in 'extreme' pictures of themselves. The promotion is called 'Show Me Your V'. The idea is for the people to be showing acts of vengeance, versatility... whatever ... while flashing the hippie-gang-sign. With the roughnecks that watch that station, there will be some interesting and literal interpretations of 'Show Me Your V'. Honestly, that's the most hilariously flawed promotional name I've come across. Leave it to the national broadcaster of the NHL."That's not a bad assessment, but "Show Me Your V" is almost so bad and obvious, that it's even more funny. I mean the pictures are completely lame, and no aspiring model has taken it to the next level as of yet, so maybe they're trying to be serious with this whole thing.
Puck Daddy reader James: "Ripe for abuse, begging to be eaten up....... wow my head is spinning."
Oh, c'mon, it's not that bad ... is it?
On the one hand ... "Show Me Your V?" Maybe our minds are so far in the gutter that we've got rats scurrying across them, but even Roger Moore's James Bond would believe this double entendre is a tad too telegraphed.
Show Me Your "V" (Versus)
Versus asks to see your 'V', doesn't offer to buy dinner first (Puck Daddy)
Labels: Double Entendre, Photos, Questionable Ideas, Randomness, Sexual Acts, Sexual Innuendo, Sports Advertising, Sports Marketing, Versus
Russell Westbrook Completes A "Major League Facial" On The Ducks
Sunday, February 24, 2008
When it comes to double entendres using the term facial for a dunk is pretty high on the list. But when you go further and call it a "Major League Facial" then my ears are going to perk up. Send it in big fella (or 6 foot 3 inch Westbrook)!
I'm not sure but did Steve Lavin also make a Vida Blue reference? He did??? Good work Lav, and I reiterate that these two are must watch TV every single game they do. Also the guy who got dunked on is named LeKendric. I'd like to think he had it coming (see what I did there?).
(From MI via Deadspin)
Labels: ABC Basketball, Brent Musburger, Double Entendre, Sexual Innuendo, Steve Lavin
If This Goalie Actually Did What Don Taylor Said He Did, That's Impressive
Thursday, February 21, 2008
This a short clip but a good one. Don Taylor of SNET is describing a nice save by Toronto's Vesa Toskala when he has a little bit of a slip (A tad NSFW, turn the volume down)....
Wait what? He did what with his what??? Too funny.
(Thanks to ML for sending the video my way)
Labels: Double Entendre, Hockey, Sexual Innuendo, YouTube Video
The Western Athletic Conference Has Some Interesting Awards
Saturday, November 17, 2007
I think I'd win this one hands down. Sorry Colin Kaepernick...now that I'm in the competition...game over.
(Via the fantastic Look at Me)
They Get Away With Everything In Canada
Tuesday, October 30, 2007

I'll stay away from the whole health care issue when talking about Canada today and just speak to what I know. Announcing. I'm pretty sure in America the term "shoot their wad" isn't acceptable in the world of Broadcasting.....
We assume Toronto Argonauts commentator Adrion Smith knows what the term means. If so, maybe he doesn't understand that the term is inappropriate. Three times during the radio broadcast of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers-Argos game last Saturday, Smith expressed concern that the Argos may "shoot their wad."I hope at least a few of you can figure out the picture at the top.
Truth & rumours (Toronto Globe and Mail....near the bottom of the page)
(Thanks to Mike for the tip....no pun intended)
Has Steve Trachsel Been To Oz?
Friday, September 14, 2007
Bonus post time! This tip from Bugs and Cranks just blew me away. All you really need is the photo actually....
In case you aren't hip to the term "Tossed Salad" B&C provides the definition. Knowing this audience though...I'm pretty sure you know what they're/I'm hinting at. If you feel like adding a "Caption" to this post for the hell of it, who Am I to stop you?
Scouting Steve Trachsel (Bugs and Cranks)
Oh How I've Missed You Joseph!
Monday, August 20, 2007

Someone alerted me to the fact that Joe Theismann was calling the Redskins game this past Saturday with Mike Patrick. I missed the original airing but Comcast helped me out and provided the replay on Sunday. As a commenter noted, Mike Patrick called Jason Campbell ex-Redskin QB Doug Williams about 8 times in the first quarter. But that's not nearly the best part of the broadcast.
Mister Irrelevant found this clip of Patrick telling the audience that our old pal Joe, likes to "munch on the box"....
"Hey, Hey, Hey." What the clip missed was when Joe Theismann tried to detail exactly how he munched the box, and proclaimed this..."You munch the box because you want to score. And you have to score to win the game."
Joe Theismann Loves Munching Box (Mister Irrelevant)
Labels: Double Entendre, Freudian Slips, Joe Theismann, Mike Patrick
Come Again (Pun Intended)???
Monday, May 07, 2007
I can't even imagine the embarrassment that follow a mishap like this. Also, for you video makers....you slay me every time you go with the slo-mo on Double Entendres like this. Enjoy.
(Via WL)
He Did What To Pat Riley?!?!
Thursday, March 01, 2007
Before I show you this video I want you (and him) to know that I love local Wizards Play-by-Play guy Steve Buckhantz. He has coined such terms as "Dagger" and "Backbreaker", and my personal favorite....the subdued "well how do you like that?" after the opposing team does something good.
While he is a great announcer and has the enthusiasm of 10 men......sometimes he gets out of hand. As evidenced after Pat Riley got T'ed up in last nights Wiz-Heat game....
"Jack Neis is keeping a close eye on him.......and he BANGED him."- SB
My favorite part might actually be color-guy Phil Chenier using the words "25th Thousandth Point" discussing Shaq. I still love you Steve.....please don't hate me.
See aren't Double Entendres much more fun than bigotry?!?!?!?!
Labels: Double Entendre, General Announcing, Local Sports, Washington Bullets
Your Double Entendre Of The Week
Wednesday, January 10, 2007
Near the end of last night's Mavs/Jazz game Utah announcer Craig Bolerjack had this to say about Memet Okur....
"There’s Memo…is there a money shot in him tonight?!?!?!?!"Are you jackin' it Boler....umm.....jack? I think we can leave the "money shots" to Andrei Kirilenko
Labels: Craig Bolerjack, Double Entendre, Sexual Acts


