Belmont Stakes: 1970 to Today

Sunday, June 10, 2007

(posted by OMDQ)

Looking around YouTube yesterday, I couldn't help but notice that they have video of a lot of the Belmont Stakes races from about 1970 on, including three Triple Crown winners (Secretariat, Affirmed and Seattle Slew) and a host of near-misses.

Let's say goodbye to Triple Crown horse racing for 2007 with a video compilation, shall we? The 2007 race is below. Follow along after the jump to take a look at the rest.

2007 (won by Rags to Riches): The half-sister, daughter and granddaughter of past winners (Jazil, A.P. Indy and Seattle Slew) became the first filly to win the Belmont in 102 years.

2005 (won by Afleet Alex): Afleet Alex finished third in the Kentucky Derby before rebounding to win the Preakness and Belmont Stakes

2003 (won by Empire Maker): Empire Maker's win on a sloppy track prevented Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner Funny Cide from completing the Triple Crown

2002 (won by Sarava)

2001 (won by Point Given)

1999 (won by Lemon Drop Kid)

1998 (won by Victory Gallop)

1997 (won by Touch Gold)

1996 (won by Editor's Note)

1995 (won by Thunder Gulch)

1994 (won by Tabasco Cat)

1993 (won by Colonial Affair): Colonial Affair was ridden by Julie Krone, who became the first female jockey to win a Triple Crown race

1992 (won by A.P. Indy)

1991 (won by Hansel)

1990 (won by Go And Go)

1989 (won by Easy Goer)

1988 (won by Risen Star): Risen Star was the son of Triple Crown winner Secretariat. After losing in the Kentucky Derby, he won the Preakness and Belmont, the latter by a huge margin, before retiring.

1987 (won by Bet Twice)

1985 (won by Creme Fraiche)

1984 (won by Swale): Swale died of a heart attack just eight days after this race

1982 (won by Conquistador Cielo)

1981 (won by Summing)

1980 (won by Temperence Hill)

1979 (won by Coastal)

1978 (won by Affirmed): Affirmed completed the Triple Crown, the second straight season a horse had won all three races. None has won since.

1977 (won by Seattle Slew): The win gave Seattle Slew the Triple Crown

1976 (won by Bold Forbes)

1974 (won by Little Current)

1973 (won by Secretariat): I think I've posted this on AA before - Secretariat finishes off the Triple Crown with a monster 31 length win in the Belmont

1972 (won by Riva Ridge)

1971 (won by Pass Catcher)

1970 (won by High Echelon)

Posted by One More Dying Quail at 1:08 PM


It's interesting that you include these Belmont races in your "awfulannouncing" blog. Why exactly do you think they are "awful"?
Chic Anderson, Dave Johnson and Marshall Cassidy were excellent callers for the most part. Only Cassidy showed signs of "losing it" in the late '80's. Hardly "awful".

Anonymous said...
Jul 12, 2007, 11:19:00 PM  

Hey Guys! Watch Belmont Stakes online here: L-I-N-K
Top-quality broadcasting

Anonymous said...
Jun 7, 2008, 7:05:00 PM  

Post a Comment